You are here

PMI-MN May 2018 Newsletter

PMI Project Management Institute Minnesota Chapter -

Minnesota Chapter of the Project Management Institute
Building Professionalism in Project Management
May 2018 Newsletter | Volume 20, Issue 5

In this Email:

Message from the Chapter President

Dear Members,

April was a great month for PMI Minnesota!  The membership team under the leadership of Michelle Wilson celebrated a successful 10th year with the annual career fair, with a high number of attendees who were able to meet with many recruiting staff members from large corporate and consulting firms. The event was followed by our monthly dinner with a presentation from Bruce E. Roselle, PhD, LP, an organizational psychologist who shared a breadth of experience and a deep sense of purpose to the task of helping leaders develop greater effectiveness and more wholehearted, fearless attitudes. 

It's also a busy year for our Professional Development Days (PDD). Team as they prepare the celebration of the 25th Anniversary of PDD.  Please mark your calendars as the event will be held September 24-27. The team works diligently to develop a program of educational and professional sessions, where our members not only earn PDUs but most importantly network with the best project management profession experts and national popular speakers.  Please click here for more information.

I remind you to check all available free and paid events on the PMI Minnesota websiteHopefully these events will assist you in your career development and advancement.  I feel very fortunate to be able to work with a great team of members and volunteers and I am delighted to serve as president of PMI Minnesota.


- Mohamed F. Diab  MBA, Ph.D, A.M.ASCE
PMI-Minnesota Chapter President & CEO

New Members - March

Dawn Palmer
Segun Ademonehin
Jordana Altman
Stuart Arkley
Beth Blaskowski
Emily Blus
Galiena Boyajian
Andrew Brown
Stacy Buchholz
Thomas Bunz
Brian Burmeister
Chris Carlson
Jason Cerar
Namrata Chakrabarty
Scott Chase
Andrew Colston
David Coulter
Nick Dermody
Jeffrey Drogseth
Kaelyn Dudley
Jessica Ehlers
Orsolya England
Michelle Eral
Guy Erlenbusch
Chad Feeney
Sharon Fischer
Marissa Fogal
Paula Frisk
Tara Gilbertson
Thomas Greene
Karin Haas
Lisa Haddican

Sherri Hakes

Jeffrey Hare
Julie Haugland
Mark Hebaus
Amanda Herr
An Hoang
Allen Hoffman
Brent Horton
Tim Jackelen
Alex Jordan
Stephanie Kasdagly
Sindhusha Kasinadhuni
David kline
Swapna Konidena
Adam Lee
Randy Lehnen
Kathleen Longar
Sean Looney
Amy  Lovgren
Mark Luukkonen
Barry Maxwell
Samuel McRickard
Kim  Meyer
Desta Millner
Jeff Mobley
Said Mohamed
rabia Mohammad
Timothy Monigold
Tera Morris Kane
Laurie Murphy
Hunter Nie
Dawit Nigatu
Daniel OConnell
Desmond Ottmar
Dawn Palmer
Frank Partridge
James Penzien
Sarah Porwoll-Lee
Lea Prochnow
Sudarsan Ramarao
Rachel Renfrow
Sarah Riedell
Veronica Rincon Rojas
Brandy Roberts
Gregory Rogers
Brent Roufs
Cheryl Royer
Trevor Sannes
Timothy Sheehan
Melissa Sheehan
Bob Shevik
Michael Smith
Dieu Hien Sonnier
Jocelyn Stein
Timothy Stenerson
Chris Stich
Eric Strong
Lucas Szulczynski
Mark Thompson
Thomas Totoe
Gretchen Unger
Ian Walsh
Elizabeth Watts
Melissa Whittle
New PMP® Certifications - March
Adam Lee 
Agnes  Ndamagye 
Amanda Quiner 
Angela Wohlleber 
Antoshiny Pushparaj
Barbara Wanner 
Brandi DeVries 
Charles Williams 
Christine Winterkamp 
christopher perkins 
Dallas Robinson 
David Meyer 
Dawit Nigatu 
Desiree Ahlstrand 
Diane Parks 
Gregg Robinson 
Hunter Nie 
Jed Bonniwell 
Jennifer Cox 
Jennifer Lehmann 
John Hahn 
Joseph Nadeau, IV
Julie Brenden-Cota 
Kathryn McConoughey 
Kenneth Anderson 
Kent Hoeglund 
Leanne Fanner 
LeRoy Frie 
Lynn Denne 
Maha Brauch 
Maria Maldonado 
Mariangellys Rodriguez
Mariluz Lopez Franco 
Megan Warmbold 
Melissa Brown 
Mikaela Tunell 
Nick Larson 
rabia Mohammad 
Renee Swenson 
Robert Geisen 
Robyn Fay-Ortman 
Ryan Jacobson 
Shawn Roop 
Stacy Peterson 
Teresa Lombard 
Terri Lindquist 
Terri Uglem 
Thad Johannessohn 
Tim Courteau 
Todd Schmit 
Valerie de Petra 
Valerie Waller 
Vivek Somani 
William Stratton 

Monthly Renewal Drawing Winner

PMI Minnesota Chapter members who renew their membership are automatically entered into a drawing and if chosen at random receive a $50 VISA gift card. Randii Waddell is the winner for the month of March. Quarterly, PMI Minnesota also conducts a drawing at random from those members who have renewed their memberships during that particular quarter and that member receives a $200 gift card. The lucky winner for the first quarter in 2018 is Sherrie Simpson Coleman.  Congratulations Randii and Sherrie and thank you both for your continued support and involvement!


Events & Registration


The Chapter schedules events for project management professionals (members and guests) throughout the year at the following locations: Minneapolis-St. Paul; Duluth-Superior; St. Cloud-Waite Park, Mankato in Minnesota & Fargo-Moorhead, Bismarck-Mandan, Grand Forks in North Dakota.  Please visit our Chapter Website Events Calendar!




May 21 | Chapter Dinner
"Grace Under Pressure - Big Game LII Portfolio Risk Management"
presented by Adrienne Jordan | 6:30PM-8:30PM | Doubletree - Park Place (1.0 PDU)

May 21 | Manufacturing/Lean/Quality PrC
"MFGPrC: LAMDA: A method for problem solving and skill development"
presented by Bill Farmer | 5:30PM-6:30PM | Doubletree - Park Place (1.0 PDU)


May 21 | Careers PMI Minnesota
Careers: Know Yourself to Lead Yourself
presented by Jeff Meacham | 5:00PM-6:00PM | Doubletree - Park Place

May 21 | Healthcare PrC
"Healthcare PrC: WATERFAGILE - Benefits of Embedding Agile in Waterfall Methodology"
presented by Manish Kalra | 5:30PM-6:30PM | Doubletree - Park Place (1.0 PDU)

May 22 | Outreach-Bismarck/Mandan
11:30AM-1:00PM | North Dakota State Capitol - Brynhild Haugland Room (1.0 PDU)


May 22 | 2018 Minnesota HIMSS Annual Spring Conference
presented by Archelle Georgiou, MD | 7:00AM-5:00PM | Doubletree Park Place (1.0 PDU)



June 12 | Chapter Breakfast
Three Voice on Leadership
presented by PMI Minnesota Leadership | 7:00AM-8:30PAM |  Midland Hills Country Club (1.0 PDU)

June 19 | Seminar
"Personal Impact - The Art & Science of Executive Presence"
presented by Polly Meyer | 8:00AM-4:00PM |  Minnesota State University - Mankato (Edina Campus) (8.0 PDUs)


June 20 | Outreach-Bismarck/Mandan
11:30AM-1:00PM | North Dakota State Capitol - Brynhild Haugland Room (1.0 PDU)

June 27 | Webinar
"Forgiveness over Permission - the new approach to change management"
presented by Andy Jordan | 12:00-1:00PM (1.0 PDU)



July 10 | Chapter Breakfast
7:00AM-8:30AM | Crown Plaza Mpls West (1.0 PDU)


Chapter Officers

Mohamed Diab, MBA, PhD
Geraldine Marks, PMP®
Director-Governance/Board Secretary
Joe Perzel, PMP®
Director of Finance
Janice Pyka
President Elect/COO - 2018
Manish Kalra, PMP®
Director at Large
Alisha Walter, PMP®
Director at Large
Chris Doyle
Past President - 2017
Sara Swanson, PMP®
Director at Large

Matt Mehring
Director at Large

PMI-MN Office
4248 Park Glen Road
Minneapolis, MN  55416
phone: (651) 917-6246
fax: (952) 929-1318

PMI Headquarters
Four Campus Boulevard
Newtown Square, PA 19073-3299
phone: (610) 356-4600
fax: (610) 356-4647
Fbook  Twitter  LinkedIN